h1

A Monkey Could Do It

April 24, 2011

It’s been a while. Sometimes I feel like if you don’t have a baby – or, in my case, don’t like babies – your blogging life is very nonessential. But I’d like to keep this up a little better. I think about it sometimes.

Here are some things I like lately:

Remember how I said I didn’t really like babies? I love this baby! She’s a hot mess with a squidgy face who loves alcohol and … what look to be beans? She seems like a real party.

I watched all seven seasons of Buffy the Vampire slayer in a few short months. After watching the last episode I immediately requested the comics at the library. I haven’t been this obsessed since X-files. Evil Willow, where have you been my whole life?? Well, you were always on the WB/UPN, channels even my 12-year-old self mistakenly disregarded. My bad.

I’ve been trying to get better at drawing lately. I have a pretty good sense of space, if I do say so myself, it’s just a matter of practice and finding some ounce of creativity I might have. I doubt anything is going to come of it, but I’ve really been into this guy’s art. Matt Phalon works on children’s books and I think his style is simple and expressive.

Scott and I went to DC a few weeks ago and saw cherry blossoms, political mumbo-jumbo, and Spike from Top Chef. It quickly became one of my favorite cities. So clean and young with a nice sense of bright-eyed optimism.

I finally got accepted into a school and am going to be getting my PhD in American Studies from the University of Utah. Currently planning my schedule out and trying to decide to take an experimental literature course or a course on 19th century British portrayal of animals. I’m very excited. In the meantime…

I’m still walking dogs.

Leave a Reply

